Kiir revokes appointment of 35 MPs days before taking oath

Almost all the MPs whose appointments were revoked are from Kiir’s SPLM except for the 2 who are representing South Sudan Opposition Alliance.

President Salva Kiir Mayardit has on Saturday night revoked the appointment of 35 members of parliament just 5 days before being sworn in as members of the reconstituted Transitional National Legislative Assembly (TNLA). Almost all the MPs whose appointments were revoked come from President Kiir’s SPLM party except for the 2 who are representing South Sudan Opposition Alliance (SSOA).

Among the MPs who have lost their seats is Mary Nyanut Ring Machar, the daughter of SPLM veteran, Victoria Adhar Arop.  Nyanut was appointed on May 10 in what looked like a replacement to her ageing mother who was a member of the last parliament. Her mother now replaces her again.

Related Stories

Below are the Members of Parliament whose appointments have been revoked and replaced by the president just days before the oath-taking ceremony slated for July 9:

  1. Jennifer Yabu Lasuba – CE SPLM
  2. Huda Michael Laila Daudi – CE SPLM
  3. Gowan John Elias – CE SPLM
  4. Suzy Anthony Juma – CE SPLM
  5. Emmanuel Taban Martin – CE SPLM
  6. Diana Richard Wani – CE SPLM
  7. Eunice Nakor Paul – EE SPLM
  8. Hellen Orasio – EE SPLM
  9. Daniel Naroi Lochek – EE SPLM
  10. Pasca Ohisa Oduho – EE SPLM
  11. Chol Paul Pawel – Jonglei SPLM
  12. Nyang Chol Duor – Jonglei SPLM
  13. James Guot Pur – Jonglei SPLM
  14. Nyawaragak Martin Nyang – Jonglei SPLM
  15. Elisabeth Akuol Chuang – Jonglei SPLM
  16. Mary Akech Bior – Jonglei SPLM
  17. Tabitha Nyanchin Kuojo – Jonglei SPLM
  18. Suzana Peter Machar – Lakes SPLM
  19. Peter Lual Lual – Northern Bahr el Ghazal SPLM
  20. Mary Nyanut Ring Machar – Warrap SPLM
  21. Joseph Garang Maluil – Warrap SPLM
  22. Neima Abbas Eldo – Western Bahr el Ghazal SPLM
  23. Mary Paul Ngundeng – Unity SPLM
  24. Innocent Lazarus Latjor – Unity SPLM
  25. Simon Gatluak Pech Dak – Unity SPLM
  26. Anita David Gamu – WE SPLM
  27. Roselyn Samuel Abujohn – WE SPLM
  28. Sepura Siapai Richard – WE SPLM
  29. Loto Alibiapai – WE SPLM
  30. Lawrence Ibon – PAA SPLM
  31. Ongeso Cham Ader – PAA SPLM
  32. Kengen Jakor Bejo – PAA SPLM
  33. Deng Arop Kuol – AAA SPLM
  34. Peter Gatkuoth Thot Pakam – Unity SSOA
  35. Maria Nyahok William – UN SSOA

The below new members of parliament have replaced those whose appointments were revoked.

  1. Bilal Moses Onesmus – CE SPLM
  2. Henry Stephen Tanga – CE SPLM
  3. Thomas Wani Kundu – CE SPLM
  4. Peter Samuel Moga – CE SPLM
  5. Sobur John Mansuk – CE SPLM
  6. Joseph Dilly Lokura – CE SPLM
  7. Lazarus Parmela Farajallah – CE SPLM
  8. Natire Anne Grace – EE SPLM
  9. Louis Willy Ationg – EE SPLM
  10. Grace Abalang Adiho – EE SPLM
  11. Elisabeth Nyaruach Tap – Jonglei SPLM
  12. Kutin Bayek Din – Jonglei – SPLM
  13. David Yien Bilieth – Jonglei SPLM
  14. Mary Nyarieka Lorjok – Jonglei SPLM
  15. Esbola Majok Bangot – Jonglei SPLM
  16. Nyitur Daniel Dhieu – Lakes SPLM
  17. Adhieu Thiet – Northern Bahr el Ghazal SPLM
  18. Victoria Adhar Arop – Warrap SPLM
  19. Samuel Duwar Deng – Warrap SPLM
  20. Nadia Mahajub Babiker – Western Bahr el Ghazal SPLM
  21. Mary Yol Badeng – Unity SPLM
  22. Nyalok James Thiong – Unity SPLM
  23. Robert Ruai Kuol – Unity SPLM
  24. Nyuon Janguan Loi – Unity SPLM
  25. Saleh Saaid Ukuh – WE SPLM
  26. Vosca Martin Enocka – WE SPLM
  27. Ketura Yola Ambara – WE SPLM
  28. Elnama Daniel Joseph – WE SPLM
  29. Lorian Ibon – PAA SPLM
  30. Charles Welo – PAA SPLM
  31. Francis Lokurnyang – PAA SPLM
  32. Ayen Luka Ngor – Warrap National Agenda
  33. Anthony Jervase Yak – Western Bahr el Ghazal National Agenda
  34. Martin Magok Kawai – Unity SSOA
  35. Chuong Wan Rieth Kuol – Jonglei SSOA

Support our journalism

South Sudan needs fair, non-hyphenated and questioning journalism, packed with on-ground reporting. Talk of Juba – with exceptional reporters, columnists and editors – is doing just that.

Sustaining this needs support from wonderful readers like you.

Whether you live in South Sudan or overseas, you can make a donation here.

This conversation is moderated according to Talk of Juba community rules. Please adhere to our guidelines . Be civil, kind and respectful when commenting to avoid being banned. Read the rules before joining the discussion. If you’re experiencing any technical problems, please contact us.

Courtesy Image

NoneTwic East Community reduces bride price to encourage youthful marriages

This significant reduction from previous customary practices aims to alleviate financial burdens on families and...

NoneSupreme Court drops charges against priest who was jailed for plotting to kill Rumbek Bishop

NoneFifteen children die of heat-related diseases